On Having A Serious Fun : A Bucket List to Keep the Child’s Spirit Inside My Older Body

Time indeed flies so fast! I thought I’m still 18! I thought I was just doing silly stuffs and laughing out loud with my high school friends yesterday! And now I’m already, what? 23? Haha..

But hey, isn’t the older the better? The older a wine is, the higher it may worth. The older a cheese is, the more delicious and expensive it may become. This logic should apply to human as well, I guess. The older someone is, the better personal quality she/he may have. Β And it means that the higher he/she should worth, at least for her/himself!

Being older sometimes equals to being more serious. In every sense, in everything we do. It sounds so boring, right? Wrong! We can always be serious and have fun at the same time. Sounds contradictory? Not really! We can always have serious fun or having fun seriously. Yes! I nailed it! Haha πŸ˜€

β€œThe year you were born marks only your entry into the world. Other years where you prove your worth, they are the ones worth celebrating. 
”
― Jarod Kintz,Β This Book Title is Invisible

During my entire life, I have always been so competitive and love to chase goals, name it personal or communal ones. I understand that people may feel worthy through different ways and by different means. I feel happy when I’m able to do something that makes myself and other people happy. I also feel happy when I do silly things and laugh out loud. Thus, today, when I enter my first day of becoming a 23 years old girl, I set a bucket list for myself. I hope that by making this bucket list I can be more driven, determined, persistent, and still having fun at the same time. Not to mention to get support and prayer from those who read this list. The more people who know what I wish for, the more prayer and support I will get, and the bigger chance I’ll have to make it happen. I think. Amen!

So here are 23 things I wanna do in my 23 :

  1. Getting an empty jar and fill it with good things that happen to me in my 23. By July 21st 2014 I’ll empty it and see what awesome stuffs have happened to me
  2. Learning how to swim. I know, you’re now just laughing at me. I won’t demand you to stop laughing at me, though. I know I should have written ‘learn how to dive’ or ‘learn how to surf’ instead. But hey! I wouldn’t feel secure to learn how to dive or surf before learning how to swim! Enough said! πŸ˜‰
  3. Do a daily meditation
  4. Run at least 15 miles per week for at least 6 months
  5. Wall climbing at the karst walls in Phuket, Thailand
  6. Take a volunteer work in an orangutan protection center in Borneo
  7. Do at least one half marathon race
  8. Write a letter in the bottle and send it from a foreign country and see whether it will ever happen to reach me or not πŸ™‚
  9. Do at least ten random acts of kindness
  10. Bungee jump or do a tandem paragliding
  11. Climbing 2 of 3 highest active volcanoes in Indonesia, which are…. *drum roll* Kerinci and Rinjani!! Yay!!
  12. Take mom and dad to Gili islands or Belitong island for their 25th wedding anniversary
  13. Get my opinion or analysis published in a national newspaper/magazine
  14. Be able to speak Spanish at least at the intermediate level
  15. Do a silent day. So I won’t speak at all for a day in a foreign country and I’ll have to still be able to enjoy the travel, get some foods, and get directions at that day. Yeah!
  16. Involved in a project with a social cause
  17. Make a painting and hang it at my room’s wall
  18. Being in an international conference or festival
  19. Teaching English to people in my area
  20. Sponsor a student to a sporting or academic competition
  21. Visit Myanmar and go back home alive! Kidding! Myanmar isn’t that scary πŸ™‚
  22. Try a new ‘occasional job’ beside my full time job, like a non routine work that I’ve never done before. A magazine contributor, maybe? Setting a new business with my brother, maybe?
  23. Read at least 2 books in French. I know it’ll take forever but this is just cool thing to do! Yes, the language itself is cool and sexy! πŸ™‚

And that’s my bucket list. I wish it doesn’t only end up as a list, but a checked list!

Let’s have fun together, people!

Hugs and Kisses,

Rani

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “On Having A Serious Fun : A Bucket List to Keep the Child’s Spirit Inside My Older Body

  1. wow…jadi penasaran ran, udah kecapai semua belum?

    suka banget sama tulisan tulisanmu πŸ™‚

  2. Mba Rachmaaaaa… apa kabar? Lama ga ketemu ya πŸ™‚ Bucket list masih ada yg belum kecentang nih hehe.. I’m still working on it hehe..

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

@fionahutama

taking life one adventure at a time | Muser | Diver | Explorer

Eat, Run, and Everything in Between

Finding Balance One day at a Time

Sh*t My 12-Year-Old Says

I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

@ernestprakasa

riveting roars of random rants

Mademoiselle Istanbul

Voyages, bonnes adresses et fantaisies du quotidien

