On Deciding Where to Go : How I Tried Not to be Overwhelmed

Traveling always makes me feel excited. I love the process of deciding what to do, where to stay, how to get to a place, what to wear, what to eat, what souvenirs to buy, and what kind of experiences to expect. Those expectations make every trip interesting! However, on top of all, deciding where to go is the most exciting part yet frustrating, sometimes.

 

Things will be easier when we travel with some one else or some friends. Every feedback counts and one’s opinion can complement others’. The thing is, I’ll be traveling solo to Indochina next month. I travel solo quite often but within my own country’s boundaries, so I always feel safe doing so. Crossing border where people speak different languages is another thing, even if I know that sign language will always help! The Tarzan’s language, my mom would call it 🙂

 

So I researched for my trip. I browsed some of my favorite travel blogs, my favorite travel social media, and even asked for itinerary to my friends who’ve been there before. Traveling solo is all about myself and what I want to do or experience, so I tried to make it as personally enjoyable as possible. As I am a very curious person, I wanted to visit as many places as possible, yet again, I have time limit. Oh, I hate it!

 

I jumped from one possibility to another and to another one and the list goes on and on. I arranged and re-arranged my itinerary based on my main considerations : budget (yes, I’m on a budget, buddy!), the attractions that a place offers, time allocation, and how that place can fit my interest. I’m not a party hopper, so I will skip the full moon parties and river tubing in Vang Vieng, Laos. I don’t drink alcohol so I won’t hang out until the morning comes at Khao San Road.  I’m also not really a beach girl (I am a mountain girl! ), so I’ll skip Pattaya or Phuket, even if people said that those beaches are cool! Apart from those personal preferences, it was not easy at all to decide where to go since every place is unique in its own way. Chiang Mai offers elephants preservation park, while Siem Reap offers the beautiful Angkor Wat. It was not easy at all to decide whether I should be heading to the north or to the south.

 

Yet again, I only have around 10 days to travel to Indochina, so yes, my time is very very very limited. I always want to do this and that, going here and there, but finally I (hopefully) decided that I’ll be heading south instead of north. So pity that I’ll have to skip Luang Prabhang and Chiang Mai, but I have to be rational as well. So I would probably go to Bangkok, Siem Reap, Pnom Penh, Ho Chi Minh, Halong Bai, and Hanoi.

 

Well, on top of all, I don’t want the time constrain to deter me enjoying my trip. Wherever I go, I’ll make sure that I’ll bring my good mood along with me. I will have to ask other fellow travelers for advice as well. So, I’ll update again with my packing list and trip report afterwards!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

@fionahutama

taking life one adventure at a time | Muser | Diver | Explorer

Eat, Run, and Everything in Between

Finding Balance One day at a Time

Sh*t My 12-Year-Old Says

I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

@ernestprakasa

riveting roars of random rants

Mademoiselle Istanbul

Voyages, bonnes adresses et fantaisies du quotidien

