Exploring Baluran, Indonesia’s Little Africa

baluran

Triggered by a documentary show he has just watched couples days ago  in TV, my brother urged my dad to bring us to Baluran National Park for his school break. As I’ve never been there before, I, without any doubt, confirmed that I’m in. Ironically, in the morning before we went for this trip, I broke up with my (ex)boyfriend. And yeah, coincidentally it turned to be my personal post-break-up refreshment trip. What a great timing!

Well, my intention is not to share my creepy broken-heart thing here. So why don’t we move to the cool part of the story? Exploring Baluran, Indonesia’s little Africa!

Brief Description

Baluran is one of Indonesia’s National Park where animals are protected in their own habitat. Located in Banyuwangi-Situbondo by pass, this park offers a unique combination of Africa-Like savannah ecosystem, the mountain view, and what you’ll get more is the fact that the clean and calm beach (Bama beach)  is just a stone throw away from the savannah.

Getting There

Private Car

Driving private car will be easiest way to get there. I went there from my hometown, Malang, through Pasuruan, Kraksaan, Paiton, and Situbondo. Please check this google map for the driving direction.

Bus

Take the bus to Banyuwangi, and stop at Baluran National Park Office. Then take ojek (motorbike) to the savannah.

Here is my trip’s sum (by private car):

Malang – Baluran National Park Office : 7-8 hours

Baluran National Park Office – Bekol (where bungalows are available to rent) : 1 hours (12 km)

Bekol – Bama beach : 30 minutes

What To Do?

  • Bird and safari animal watching
  • Fishing
  • Cycling (bicycles are available for rent)
  • Canoeing
  • Snorkeling
  • Bottom glass boat trip

Accommodation

There are some bungalows  owned by the national park and located in Bekol savannah are ready to rent. Please check this link  for details and  reservation.

How Can I Feed My Appetite?

Well, better to bring your own foods since food stalls are far away to reach, but cafeteria is available in Bekol Savannah area, next to the bungalows.

Is There Any Notice I Should Pay Attention To?

Well, surprises are what make every trip interesting, huh?. But I think I need to inform you, just beware of the monkeys, especially in Bama beach. It is better not to obviously carry foods, since the monkeys expect you to give them foods. In short, just be cool. Don’t we always want to look cool, even in front of monkeys? haha

Categories: Indonesia, Travel Journal | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

@fionahutama

taking life one adventure at a time | Muser | Diver | Explorer

Eat, Run, and Everything in Between

Finding Balance One day at a Time

Sh*t My 12-Year-Old Says

I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

@ernestprakasa

riveting roars of random rants

Mademoiselle Istanbul

Voyages, bonnes adresses et fantaisies du quotidien

